Biological and Process Engineering and Technology

Bioplastics labWe are dedicated to the study and engineering of a wide array of biological systems and processing technologies. Our research spans from biomass pretreatment to sensor development, from life-cycle analysis to novel processing techniques, from food-safety to fermentation modeling, and from grain quality to bio-nanotechnology. In addition, much of our current work addresses critical needs within the developing bioeconomy. We are also tightly connected to ABE degree options in Biological Systems Engineering, Agricultural Engineering, Agricultural Systems Technology, and Industrial Technology.


Faculty

Carl BernCarl Bern, PE
2344 Elings Hall
515-294-1270
cjbern@iastate.edu
Tom BrummThomas Brumm
4335 Elings Hall
515-294-5145
tbrumm@iastate.edu

Shweta ChopraShweta Chopra
4344 Elings Hall
515-294-4898
schopra@iastate.edu

GDavid GrewellDavid Grewell
4356 Elings Hall
515-294-2036
dgrewell@iastate.edu

Charles HurburghCharles Hurburgh
3167 NSRIC
515-294-8629
tatry@iastate.edu

Dirk MaierDirk Maier, PE
3325 Elings Hall
515-294-0140
dmaier@iastate.edu

Manjit MisraManjit Misra
102A Seed Science
515-294-6821
mkmisra@iastate.edu

Gretchen MosherGretchen Mosher
3331 Elings Hall
515-294-6416
gamosher@iastate.edu

Raj RamanRaj Raman, PE
3356 Elings Hall
515-294-0465
rajraman@iastate.edu

Kurt RosentraterKurt Rosentrater
3327 Elings Hall
515-294-4019
karosent@iastate.edu

Chenxu YuChenxu Yu
3344 Elings Hall
515-294-4554
chenxuyu@iastate.edu


Research and Extension Laboratories

ISU Grain Quality Laboratory
Iowa Grain Quality Initiative
Seed Science Center
Global Food Security Consortium
Center for Crops Utilization Research
Center for Bioplastics and Biocomposites
Center for Sustainable Rural Livelihoods
Biopolymers and Biocomposites Research Team
Center for Biorenewable Chemicals
The US Quality Grains Research Consortium

Graduate Courses

Grain Processing and Handling
Engineering Analysis of Biological Systems
Fundamentals of Biorenewable Resources