Animal Production Systems Engineering

ISU_Engineering_May-043Welcome to the website of ABE’s Animal Production System Engineering focus area. We devote our work toward a) ensuring sustainable development of livestock and poultry industries and economic prosperity at state, national and global levels; and b) improving quality of life for the rural communities. We strive to serve our stakeholders through student learning, mission-oriented research, and extension/professional services. Currently, our research and extension programs focus on air quality issues related to animal production, animal behavior and welfare, animal housing and environment control, and animal manure/nutrient management.


Faculty

Daniel Andersen
3348 Elings Hall
515-294-4210
dsa@iastate.edu

Richard Gates
Kildee Hall
515-294-4660
rsgates@iastate.edu

Jay Harmon
4333 Elings Hall
515-294-0554
jharmon@iastate.edu

Jacek Koziel
4350 Elings Hall
515-294-4206
koziel@iastate.edu

Joshua Peschel
2348 Elings Hall
515-294-4814
peschel@iastate.edu

Brett Ramirez

4348 Elings Hall
515-294-0468
bramirez@iastate.edu

James Shahan

4352 Elings Hall
515-294-1398
jcshahan@iastate.edu

Timothy Shepherd
4358 Elings
515-294-4892
tshep@iastate.edu


Research and Extension Laboratories

Air Dispersion Laboratory
Atmospheric Air Quality Laboratory
Olfactometry Laboratory
Agricultural Waste Management Laboratory
Hoop Structures for Livestock
Livestock & Poultry Systems

Graduate Courses

Instrumentation for Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
Integrated Crop and Livestock Production Systems
Air Pollution
Design of Environmental Modification Systems for Animal Housing
Design of Agricultural Structures

SaveSave

SaveSave