Land and Water Resources Engineering

2014_ISU_Engineering_552Welcome to the web pages of ABE’s Land and Water Resources Engineering focus area. We work to develop engineered solutions and best management practices that protect and conserve the soil and water resources of Iowa, our nation, and the world.

We teach, conduct research and provide extension services on topics such as water quality and pollution control, hydrology and drainage, and remote sensing and modeling.


Faculty

Matt HelmersMatt Helmers
4354 Elings Hall
515-294-6717
mhelmers@iastate.edu

Adina HoweAdina Howe
3346 Elings Hall
515-294-0176
adina@iastate.edu

Amy KaleitaAmy Kaleita
3352 Elings Hall
515-294-5167
kaleita@iastate.edu

Ramesh KanwarRamesh Kanwar
4358 Elings Hall
515-294-0417
rskanwar@iastate.edu

Steve MickelsonSteven Mickelson
1340B Elings Hall
515-294-1434
estaben@iastate.edu

Joshua PeschelJoshua Peschel
2348 Elings Hall
515-294-4814
peschel@iastate.edu

Michelle SoupirMichelle Soupir
3346 Elings Hall
515-294-2307
msoupir@iastate.edu

Sunday TimU. Sunday Tim
4346 Elings Hall
515-294-4246
tim@iastate.edu

 


Research and Extension Laboritories

Agricultural Drainage Research Group
ABE/Agronomy Research Farm
Program for Space-borne and Earth System Sustainability
Spatial Data Analysis Laboratory
Water Quality Research Laboratory (WQRL)
Animal Composting
Compost/Erosion Research and Demonstration Project
Emergency livestock mortality composting

Graduate Courses

Soil and Water Conservation Systems (Every Fall)
Soil and Water Monitoring Systems (Alt Spring)
Nonpoint Source Pollution (Alt Spring)
Erosion and Sedimentation (Alt Fall)
TMDL Development and Implementation (Alt Fall)